QBoard » Artificial Intelligence & ML » AI and ML - Conceptual » Why is Python such a popular language in the AI field?

Why is Python such a popular language in the AI field?

• First of all, I'm a beginner studying AI and this is not an opinion-oriented question or one to compare programming languages. I'm not implying that Python is the best language. But the fact is that most of the famous AI frameworks have primary support for Python. They can even be multi language supported, for example, TensorFlow that supports Python, C++, or CNTK from Microsoft that support C# and C++, but the most used is Python (I mean more documentation, examples, bigger community, support, etc). Even if you choose C# (developed by Microsoft and my primary programming language) you must have the Python environment set up.
    I read in other forums that Python is preferred for AI because the code is simplified and cleaner, good for fast prototyping.
    So what is the big deal with Python?
    Why is there a growing association between Python and AI?

This post was edited by Bushan Kumar at December 5, 2020 1:01 PM IST
      December 5, 2020 1:00 PM IST
  • Python comes with a huge amount of inbuilt libraries. Many of the libraries are for Artificial Intelligence and Machine Learning. Some of the libraries are Tensorflow (which is high-level neural network library), scikit-learn (for data mining, data analysis and machine learning), pylearn2 (more flexible than scikit-learn), etc. The list keeps going and never ends.

You can find some libraries here.

Python has an easy implementation for OpenCV. What makes Python favourite for everyone is its powerful and easy implementation.