QBoard » Big Data » Big Data - Data Processing and ETL » Difference between HBase and Hadoop/HDFS

Difference between HBase and Hadoop/HDFS

• This is kind of naive question but I am new to NoSQL paradigm and don't know much about it. So if somebody can help me clearly understand difference between the HBase and Hadoop or if give some pointers which might help me understand the difference.
    Till now, I did some research and acc. to my understanding Hadoop provides framework to work with raw chunk of data(files) in HDFS and HBase is database engine above Hadoop, which basically works with structured data instead of raw data chunk. Hbase provides a logical layer over HDFS just as SQL does. Is it correct?
      August 21, 2021 5:33 PM IST
  • Differences between HDFS & HBase

• HBase provides low latency access to small amounts of data within large data sets while HDFS provides high latency operations.
    • HBase supports random read and writes while HDFS supports WORM (Write once Read Many or Multiple times).
    • HDFS is basically or primarily accessed through MapReduce jobs while HBase is accessed through shell commands, Java API, REST, Avro or Thrift API.

HDFS stores large data sets in a distributed environment and leverages batch processing on that data. 

While HBase stores data in a column oriented manner where each column is stored together so that, reading becomes faster leveraging real time processing. 

October 9, 2021 1:21 PM IST