QBoard » Artificial Intelligence & ML » AI and ML - R » Big Data Process and Analysis in R

Big Data Process and Analysis in R

• I know this is not a new concept by any stretch in R, and I have browsed the High Performance and Parallel Computing Task View. With that said, I am asking this question from a point of ignorance as I have no formal training in Computer Science and am entirely self taught.

Recently I collected data from the Twitter Streaming API and currently the raw JSON sits in a 10 GB text file. I know there have been great strides in adapting R to handle big data, so how would you go about this problem? Here are just a handful of the tasks that I am looking to do:

1. Read and process the data into a data frame
    2. Basic descriptive analysis, including text mining (frequent terms, etc.)
    3. Plotting

Is it possible to use R entirely for this, or will I have to write some Python to parse the data and throw it into a database in order to take random samples small enough to fit into R.

Simply, any tips or pointers that you can provide will be greatly appreciated. Again, I won't take offense if you describe solutions at a 3rd grade level either.

Thanks in advance.

September 3, 2021 1:46 PM IST
  • If you need to operate on the entire 10GB file at once, then I second @Chase's point about getting a larger, possibly cloud-based computer.
    (The Twitter streaming API returns a pretty rich object: a single 140-character tweet could weigh a couple kb of data. You might reduce memory overhead if you preprocess the data outside of R to extract only the content you need, such as author name and tweet text.)
    On the other hand, if your analysis is amenable to segmenting the data -- for example, you want to first group the tweets by author, date/time, etc -- you could consider using Hadoop to drive R.