QBoard » Artificial Intelligence & ML » AI and ML - Conceptual » What does fit() exactly does here?

What does fit() exactly does here?

• Well, basically i want to know what does the fit() function does in general, but especially in the pieces of code down there.

Im taking the Machine Learning A-Z Course because im pretty new to Machine Learning (i just started). I know some basic conceptual terms, but not the technical part.

CODE1:

from sklearn.impute import SimpleImputer

missingvalues = SimpleImputer(missing_values = np.nan, strategy = 'mean', verbose = 0) 

missingvalues = missingvalues.fit(X[:, 1:3])

X[:, 1:3] = missingvalues.transform(X[:, 1:3])

Some other example where I still have the doubt

CODE 2:

from sklearn.preprocessing import StandardScaler
    sc_X = StandardScaler()
    print(sc_X)
    X_train = sc_X.fit_transform(X_train)
    print(X_train)
    X_test = sc_X.transform(X_test)

I think that if I know like the general use for this function and what exactly does in general, I'll be good to go. But certaily I'd like to know what is doing on that code

September 13, 2021 1:58 PM IST
  • Here is also a nice check-up possibility: https://scikit-learn.org/stable/tutorial/basic/tutorial.html
    The fit-method is always to learn something in machine learning.
    You normally have the following steps:
    1. Seperate your data into two/three datasets
    2. Pick one part of your data to learn/train something (normally X_train) with fit
    3. Use the learned algorithm you predict something to unseen data (normally X_test) with predict
    In your first example: missingvalues.fit(X[:, 1:3]) You are training SimpleImputerbased on your data Xwhere you are only using column 1,2,3, with transform you used this training to overwrite this data.