QBoard » Big Data » Big Data - Spark » How can I increase big data performance?

How can I increase big data performance?

• I am new at this concept, and still learning. I have total 10 TB json files in AWS S3, 4 instances(m3.xlarge) in AWS EC2 (1 master, 3 worker). I am currently using spark with python on Apache Zeppelin.

I am reading files with the following command;

hcData=sqlContext.read.option("inferSchema","true").json(path)

In zeppelin interpreter settings:

master = yarn-client
    spark.driver.memory = 10g
    spark.executor.memory = 10g
    spark.cores.max = 4​

It takes 1 minute to read 1GB approximately. What can I do more for reading big data more efficiently?

• Should I do more on coding?
    • Should I increase instances?
    • Should I use another notebook platform?

Thank you.

October 13, 2021 2:21 PM IST
  • For performance issue, the best is to know where is the performance bottleneck. Or try to see where the performance problem could be.

Since 1 minute to read 1GB is pretty slow. I would try the following steps.

• Try to explicitly specify schema instead of inferschema
    • Try to use Spark 2.0 instead of 1.6
    • Check the connection between S3 and EC2, in case there were some misconfiguration
    • Using different file format like parquet other than json
    • Increase the executor memory and decrease the driver memory
    • Use Scala instead of Python, although in this case is the least likely the issue.
    This post was edited by Advika Banerjee at October 16, 2021 1:20 PM IST
      October 16, 2021 1:19 PM IST
  • Using data analytics can help. By combining a high-performer job task analysis with a quantitative gap analysis, you can collect solid evidence of performance needs, enabling you to prioritize — and defend — your performance improvement efforts and create targeted, learner-centric solutions.