QBoard » Advanced Visualizations » Viz - Tableau » Query tableau workbooks using tableau Rest API

Query tableau workbooks using tableau Rest API

• I am new to API coding and working on a module which signs in to Tableau Server and gets the list of workbooks stored in a site. The code is to be written in C# using the Tableau Rest API.

I was able to sign in to Tableau server successfully using the Rest API. However, I was not able to query the workbooks. Below is my code.

class Program
        {
            static HttpClient client = new HttpClient();

public static string site_id { get; set;}
            public static string token { get; set; }
            static void Main(string[] args)
            {
                CallWebAPIAsync().Wait();
            }

static async Task CallWebAPIAsync()
            {
                using (var client = new HttpClient())
                {
                    client.Timeout = TimeSpan.FromMilliseconds(Timeout.Infinite);
                    client.BaseAddress = new Uri("https://my server url.com");
                    client.DefaultRequestHeaders.Accept.Clear();
                    client.DefaultRequestHeaders.Accept.Add(new MediaTypeWithQualityHeaderValue("application/xml"));
                    client.DefaultRequestHeaders.Accept.Add(new MediaTypeWithQualityHeaderValue("application/octet-stream"));
                    SignIn(client);
                    Workbooks(client, site_id, token);
                }

Console.Read();
            }

public class CustomXmlMediaTypeFormatter : XmlMediaTypeFormatter
            {
                public CustomXmlMediaTypeFormatter()
                {
                    UseXmlSerializer = true;
                    WriterSettings.OmitXmlDeclaration = false;
                }
            }
            public static tableauCredentialsType SignIn(HttpClient client)
            {
                var name = "Administrator";
                var password = "password";
                var site = "";